Historical Center of Trujillo
The city of Trujillo of Peru in spite of to be into a genuine architectural - urbanistic latinoamerican problematic keeps a particular urban characteristics which are valued by the existence of a group of monuments with a historic - artistic and architectural value. Into its own urban central kernel there are a lot of works that must be considered as real "landmarks" all of that within an experience and search process of new urban - architectural regional - profiles. So, streets, mansions, ancestral homes, the ancient rampart main squares, religious, civil and public buildings must be studied and valued,having the socio-cultural context of a local society as a basis, although is getting conscious about the importance of the presents monument's preservation into our rural and urban territory, being the general purpose to stablish into the architecture and regional urbanisme an aesthetics-constructive discussion that streng then a final consolidation of a local-regional. On March 5th, 1535, Francisco Pizarro consolidated the foundation of the Trujillo village, setting up the town council and dealing out the ancestral homes between the land agent neighbours, this was an assigned right by the Spain King. Since this date the first buildings of permanent character were built according the foundational style. In 1534, Miguel de Estete made the urban design, however is not possible to find any of the original plans, but they can be observed since the construction of the rampart in the 17th century. The urban space in squares with blocks from 100 to 150 m. by side and the streets with transversal sections between 10 and 12 meters are still kept into the historical centre of Trujillo.
The Main Square
Like a traditional Spanish city, the Cathedral or Main Church, the City Hall, the offices of the "Universidad Nacional de Trujillo" (f. in 1824), and beautiful buildings like the house of the families Urquiaga and Bracamonte, and the Hotel El Libertador surrounds the Main Square and represent the beauty of the colonial architecture.
Built between 1647 and 1666, and rebuilt between 1768 to 1781. It presents a beautiful decoration in its interior and colonial paintings, stores a valuable choir seat, altarpieces of Baroque and Rococo styles. It has a Museum of Religious Art with exhibition of paintings and sculptures.
Colonial Large Houses
Houses inhabited by aristocrats and farmers of the Colony and beginnings of the Republic. At the moment painted in their original colors, they show the beauty of their window gates made with exquisite wrought iron with meticulous fitting, enormous patios and living rooms very well decorated that give an elegant character to the city. It is recommended the visit to the following houses:
- "Ganoza Chopitea", the most representative relic in the city. (Independencia Street No. 630)
- "Condes de Aranda", (Bolivar Avenue N° 621)
- "Mariscal de Orbegoso" (Orbegoso Street N° 553)
- "Palacio de Iturregui" (Pizarro Street N° 688), at the moment headquarters of the Central Club of Trujillo.
- "Casa del Mayorazgo de Falcalá" (Pizarro Street N° 314)
- "Casa de la Emancipación", place in which the Independence was sworn on December 29th, 1820 (Pizarro Street N° 610)
- "Bracamonte" (Independencia Street N° 441)
- "Calonge or Urquiaga House" (Pizarro Street N° 446)
There you will find a lot of gold in the altars, of "Churrigueresque" style with sparkling and luminous silver decorations. The visit to the following churches is recommended:
"El Carmen" (Church and Convent)
(1725) Considered the most important in the city, possesses a beautiful collection of paintings. It was destroyed by an earthquake in 1759, survived the biggest altarpiece and the paintings. Their main altar is a masterwork with a beautiful golden altarpiece, made by Fernando Collado de la Cruz (1759); images of high artistic quality.
"Iglesia La Merced"
(1636) Church with a flat front and perpendicular to the old convent in which took place the Court of Justice. Their main altarpiece comes from the "Iglesia de la Compañía", in which outstand the colored relieves of the arched roof and the only organ of "Rococo" style of Trujillo.
"Iglesia Santa Clara"
It possesses a beautiful pulpit with figures in high relief, and an ostentatious and golden main altar.
"Iglesia Santo Domingo"
Has an inscription that says, "This chapel was made with the charity of the black slaves of the Mother of God. Year 1641." Its main altar is dedicated to "Santa Rosa de Lima", with paintings in gold and green.
"Iglesia San Francisco"
It possesses a rich collection of altarpieces with beautiful design, carved, golden and colored relieves. San Francisco Solano preached from the Renaissance pulpit that at the moment is conserved in excellent conditions.
- "San Agustín" (1558).
- "Iglesia de la Compañía".
The circuit of the Main Square, colonial houses, churches and Archaeological Museum can be carried out walking, and it will demand you a minimum average of 6 hours; it is recommended to follow the circuit according to the numeration that appears in the map of the Historical Center.